What to read next: Kafka on the Shore

The only bad thing about finishing a good book is wondering where to go next. If you liked Kafka on the Shore by Haruki Murakami, here are some suggestions for what to enjoy next.

kafka RA

The Book

Kafka on the Shore by Haruki Murakami
If you’ve read Murakami’s work, you know it’s a bit difficult to describe. This book follows two separate main characters, each taking a journey. The rich language creates a surreal story of origins, family, self-discovery, possibility, and impossible magic in the daily life. Reality is a fluid concept as characters meet and the stories converge in this sometime chilling tale. The language, setting, and mood make this complex story quite an experience.

Read-Alikes

Wonder by Dominique Fortier
Amid the some of the worst volcanic eruptions in history, this story weaves through time as it introduces various characters. It is similarly surreal, complex, and beautifully written.

The Diving Pool: Three Novellas by Yoko Ogawa
Ogawa’s style of writing is similar to Murakami. The stories are surreal, brief tellings of potential reality.

The Bone Clocks by David Mitchell
Similar to Kafka on the Shore, this richly detailed novel is complex, thought-poking, and includes paranormal elements.

Related Reading and Entertainment

The Fountain, graphic novel written by Darren Aronofsky and illustrated by Kent Williams
This beautifully written comic blends the past, present, and future as the main character seeks eternal life only to be forced to face the concept of death.

Norwegian Woodmovie
If you enjoy Murakami’s work, this film is a very well-received adaptation of his novel with the same title. It is love story, but is similarly atmospheric and complex.

 

Interested in a book? Click the title links to view on WorldCat—under the book information, enter your location to find a copy in a library near you.

Header image edited from Library Shelves by Lydia Liu. Cover art from Goodreads.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s