What to read next: A Discovery of Witches

The only bad thing about finishing a good book is wondering where to go next. If you liked A Discover of Witches by Deborah Harkness, here are some suggestions for what to enjoy next.

discovery of witches RA

The Book

A Discover of Witches, Book 1 of the All Souls Trilogy by Deborah Harkness
Historian and reluctant witch Diana Bishop unwittingly discovers an alchemical manuscript long thought lost before it disappears again. Vampires, daemons, and powerful witches soon descend, including Matthew Clairmont—a vampire who has been hunting the book for hundreds of years and immediately takes an interest in Diana. Deborah Harkness brings her expertise as a history professor to her fictional storytelling to craft a magical series of romance and mystery that introduces a supernatural reality hidden in daily life.

Read-Alikes

The Rook by Daniel O’Malley
This suspenseful, supernatural thriller features a strong female lead and, while not historical, blends various timelines.

The Taker by Alma Katsu
Similar pacing and eerily real supernatural creatures, this gothic-style romance has aspects of historical fiction as it blends perspectives to reveal the horrible reality of eternal life.

The Historian by Elizabeth Kostova
The exotic settings and detail of this historical fiction create a rich, pensive story that is lovely yet quietly unsettling.

Related Reading and Entertainment

Outlander, TV series
Based on Diana Gabaldon’s popular series of novels, Outlander is a historical romance with time travel, love, and ancient magic.

Is this Bottle Corked?: The Secret Life of Wine by Kathleen Burk and Michael Bywater
Wine is an important part of the seduction in A Discovery of Witches. If you enjoyed the history, flavours, and processes described, this book shares the story of wine through anecdotes, history, and culture.

 

Interested in a book? Click the title links to view on WorldCat—under the book information, enter your location to find a copy in a library near you.

Header image edited from Library Shelves by Lydia Liu. Cover art from Goodreads.

Advertisements

One thought on “What to read next: A Discovery of Witches

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s