Winter Reading: The Historian by Elizabeth Kostova

Winter break is finally here and I am gloriously free of school work for a few weeks. In this cold weather, what better to do than curl up with a blanket and good book? Sadly, my reading time is limited by the necessity of being a healthy human and spending time with friends and honouring holiday commitments. I guess a girl can only read so much…

So let’s have some fun discussing all the books I wish I could read! Books I haven’t read, books I’d like to re-read, books with a winter or holiday theme, old and new books alike — really, whatever books cross my mind as good reading. (Admittedly, I’m not exactly sure how I’m going to discuss the books I haven’t read, but I’m sure there’s info out there.)

First up is the book I’ve actually decided to read, The Historian by Elizabeth Kostova.

The Historian

My sister was the first to recommended this book and now it comes up all the time. The writing, the story, and the characters all sound amazing. Here’s part of the summary from Goodreads:

“It is a quest for the truth about Vlad the Impaler, the medieval ruler whose barbarous reign formed the basis of the legend of Dracula. Generations of historians have risked their reputations, their sanity, and even their lives to learn the truth about Vlad the Impaler and Dracula. Now one young woman must decide whether to take up this quest herself-to follow her father in a hunt that nearly brought him to ruin years ago, when he was a vibrant young scholar and her mother was still alive. What does the legend of Vlad the Impaler have to do with the modern world? Is it possible that the Dracula of myth truly existed-and that he has lived on, century after century, pursuing his own unknowable ends?”

I am so excited to enjoy this novel. Happy winter reading!

Header made by adapting Ice Feathers by Sharon Mollerus.

Leave a Reply

