End the Reader Shaming

fifty shades

I read Fifty Shades of Grey and I liked it.

While I’ve still got your attention (if I do), let me explain why this is worth stating. Fifty Shades of Grey by E.L. James has been repeatedly snubbed during class discussions. It’s disappointing to me that we feel the need to mention a title just to mock it. As future librarians, how are we going to relate to readers or contribute to an environment free of judgment when we can’t even discuss a book without snickering? This attitude and librarian-reader disconnect forms a single point I’ve been struggling with for weeks: are we implying that it’s wrong to enjoy reading?

Today, my faith in the future of librarianship was restored when the professor ended with a slide that simply said:
Never apologize for your reading tastes. Never make someone else apologize for theirs.

Well, I am not ashamed to state that I read for enjoyment. In fact, sometimes when I read for enjoyment it involves vampires or their billionaire fanfiction-gone-bestseller spin-offs. No one will ever make me feel bad about that. More importantly, I will work to make sure I never cause anyone to feel bad about what they read.

Photo by Eren Belle Asentista on Flickr.

Leave a Reply

